PUT (a fire) OUT

I’ve gone for a more abstract depiction for today’s phrasal verb as I feel it’s pretty self-explanatory. It’s also one of those phrasal verbs that is almost always used instead of its one-word alternative, except in very formal or technical settings.

meaning

To extinguish a fire or flames. As I said before, when speaking in conversation, I would hardly ever use ‘extinguish’, even though it’s a perfect one-word translation, so I feel it’s one of those phrasal verbs that can help English learners sound more authentic. (I’m open to other opinions though if other varieties of English disagree with me!) It’s also used for other things that burn, such as cigarettes. Here are some examples:

Firefighters worked tirelessly to put out the blaze.

If you have a barbecue on the beach, don’t forget to put out the fire completely before you leave.

Could you put out your cigarette, please? The smoke is bothering me.

Note: For candles, ‘blow out‘ is more common.

the grammar bit

‘Put out’ is transitive and separable. So you can say:

They put out the fire.

They put it out.

The put the fire out.

But you can’t say:

They put out.

They put out it.

song

Maybe I’m the only one who hadn’t heard this Queen song before, but it’s perfect for today. It contains rather dramatic imagery in the lyrics, but is essentially a profound message against the use of guns:

discussion

Practise using ‘put out’ with these discussion questions:

  1. Have you ever witnessed firefighters putting out a fire?
  2. What is the best way to put out a kitchen fire?

Feel free to comment or contact me for personal feedback!

Published by stephanielvalerio

EFL teacher and illustrator, enthusiastic about creating materials and resources. Originally from England and now based in Madrid.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started